Latest League News

Evo-Stik NPL Awards - 25th March 2012

All the reaction and winners from Sunday's awards
over 3 years ago | Tom Snee
Evo-Stik NPL Awards - 25th March 2012Zoom

Hundreds of guests packed the Brooklands Holiday Inn on Sunday evening as the Evo-Stik NPL host their inaugural Player of the Year awards.

Hosted by League representative John Jones and Caroline Barker of the BBC's Non-League Show, the event featured six individual awards as voted for by the managers of Evo-Stik NPL clubs.

Premier Division Player of the Year

Steve Foster - Chorley

Premier Division Young Player of the Year

Chris Clements - Hednesford Town

First Division North Player of the Year

Shaun Tuck - Skelmersdale United

First Division North Young Player of the Year

Alex Titchiner - Witton Albion

First Division South Player of the Year

Gary Ricketts - Ilkeston FC

First Division South Young Player of the Year

Terry Hawkridge - Carlton Town

As well as the individual awards, the managers also voted players into the Team of the Year for each division.

Premier Division Team of the Year

GK. Ben Hinchcliffe - Northwich Victoria

RB. Kieron Walmsley - Kendal Town

LB. Matt McGinn - Chester

CB. George Horan - Chester

CB. Cheyenne Dunkley - Hednesford Town

MF. Chris Clements - Hednesford Town

MF. Wayne Riley - Northwich Victoria

MF Alex Brown - Chester

F. Mike Norton - FC United of Manchester

F. Steve Foster - Chorley

F. Matty McNeil - Chester

First Division North Team of the Year

GK. Nick Culkin - Radcliffe Borough

RB. Antony Gardner - Witton Albion

LB. Matt Wood - Witton Albion

CB. Graham Kay - Curzon Ashton

CB. Glenn Steel - AFC Fylde

MF. Joe Shaw - Trafford

MF. Joe Booth - AFC Fylde

MF. Bradley Barnes - AFC Fylde

F. Shaun Tuck - Skelmersdale United

F. Alex Titchener - Witton Albion

F. Paul Walker - Garforth Town

First Division South Team of the Year

GK. James Lindley - Hucknall Town

RB. Sam Purcicoe - Grantham Town

LB. Lee Potts - Grantham Town

CB. Phil Watt - Grantham Town

CB. Russell Cooke - Ilkeston FC

MF. Terry Hawkridge - Carlton Town

MF. Nathan Watson - Stamford AFC

MF. Ruben Wiggins-Thomas - Carlton Town

F. Gary Ricketts - Ilkeston FC

F. Paul Grimes - Grantham Town

F. Matt Hadderall - Leek Town


In addition to those awards voted for by managers, the Northern Premier League Facebook group - represented by founding members Bradley Dobson, James Heyes and Gary Andrews - announced their Fans' Player of the Year award, with Cheyenne Dunkley of Hednesford Town winning ahead of Alex Titchiner (Witton Albion) and Ruben Wiggins-Thomas (Carlton Town) in second and third respectively.

Former Marine manager Roly Howard was presented with the NPL Merit Award in recognition of his remarkable service to the Premier Division club - Howard was manager of the Mariners for 1,975 games, spanning 30 years.


Photos and interviews with the award winners are available on the Evo-Stik NPL Facebook page.


A round-up of the awards can be heard on the BBC's Non-League Show, which broadcasts on Monday evenings between 9pm and 10pm and is available through the iPlayer.


The Evo-Stik NPL wishes to extend their thanks to everyone that helped make the night a roaring success.